Update: Here are your 4,000 pictures we deleted!

Yesterday we wrote about a Mirco Wilhelm, a Flickr user who had his five-year old account deleted by accident, wiping out 4,000 photos.

Well, there’s a happy ending to this Internet tale. After extensive media attention, the team managed to restore Wilhelm’s account. Now he can live happily ever after and enjoy his 25 years of free Flickr Pro membership. But if I were him, I’d still use backup.

Here’s Yahoo’s statement:

Yahoo! is pleased to share that the Flickr team has fully restored a member’s account that was mistakenly deleted yesterday. We regret the human error that led to the mistake and have worked hard to rectify the situation, including reloading the entire photo portfolio and providing the member with 25 years of free Flickr Pro membership. Flickr takes the trust of our members very seriously and we appreciate the patience shown by this member and our community. Flickr will also soon roll out functionality that will allow us to restore deleted accounts more easily in the future.

-Laurie